Dartmouth: the complete school report for parents

Dartmouth rates 8 of the 18 admission factors Very Important, among them course rigor, GPA and test scores. This is a genuinely holistic review. Dartmouth admits fewer than 1 in 10 applicants, and a strong test score is close to expected. Transfer applicants are admitted at 9.9% against 6.0% for first-years, so the transfer route is materially wider.

Dartmouth is officially Dartmouth College, also known as Dartmouth, Big Green. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
6.0%
28,230 applicants
GPA of admits
Not reported
Testing
Scores expected
Transfer admit rate
9.9%
689 applied
Net price (average)
$29,519
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$97,434
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
95%
Freshmen who return
98%

What does Dartmouth actually weigh in admissions?

Dartmouth rates 8 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA, test scores, the essay, extracurricular activities, recommendations, personal qualities, class rank. It does not consider 2 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is Dartmouth's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

Dartmouth admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow Dartmouth rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresVery Important
the essayVery Important
extracurricular activitiesVery Important
recommendationsVery Important
personal qualitiesVery Important
talentImportant
class rankVery Important
demonstrated interestConsidered
the interviewConsidered
legacyConsidered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyConsidered
state residencyNot Considered
volunteer workConsidered
work experienceConsidered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does Dartmouth consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does Dartmouth consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Dartmouth consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. A score at or above the middle-50 range is close to expected here.

Does Dartmouth consider the application essay?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The essay is doing as much work as the transcript.

Does Dartmouth consider extracurricular activities?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Dartmouth consider recommendation letters?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Dartmouth consider character and personal qualities?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Dartmouth consider a special talent or ability?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Dartmouth consider class rank?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Dartmouth consider demonstrated interest?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Dartmouth consider an interview?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Dartmouth consider legacy status?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. It can act as a tiebreaker but will not carry a weak application.

Does Dartmouth consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does Dartmouth consider where we live?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Dartmouth consider state residency?

No. Dartmouth does not consider it.

Does Dartmouth consider volunteer work?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Dartmouth consider work experience?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Dartmouth consider religious affiliation?

No. Dartmouth does not consider it.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

Dartmouth admitted 9.9% of 689 transfer applicants, against 6.0% of first-year applicants. For a student who does not get in at eighteen, the transfer route is a genuinely wider door and worth planning for deliberately.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

Applying Early Decision changes the odds materially: 21.6% of ED applicants were admitted against 6.0% overall, a gap of 16 points. ED is binding, so that advantage costs the ability to compare financial-aid offers.

Dartmouth application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineJanuary 3
Decisions releasedApril 5
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredYes
Early Decision deadlineNovember 1
Early Action offeredNo
Application feeNot reported
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What will Dartmouth actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $29,519 a year at Dartmouth after grants and scholarships. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 100% of demonstrated need on average.

27% of Dartmouth graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $24,255 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $186 a month in repayment. Dartmouth’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from Dartmouth pay off?

Graduates earn a median $97,434 ten years after entering, and $82,541 at six years. 88% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 87% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

$192,848 to $71,866, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at Dartmouth:

Dartmouth median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Computer Science$192,848130
Economics$153,295170
Political Science and Government$101,103153
Engineering Science$99,46894
History$95,86640
Area Studies$91,23732
English Language and Literature, General$90,61932
Biology, General$75,57155
Sociology$74,36731
Neurobiology and Neurosciences$71,86640

College Scorecard, by field of study.

Will my child actually graduate?

98% of first-years return for a second year. 95% within six (Fall 2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 92.0% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 96.0% of everyone else, a gap of 4.0 points.

How big are the classes?

61% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 1% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 7:1, and 81% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by New England Commission on Higher Education.

What is life at Dartmouth like?

4,715 undergraduates, 97% of first-years from out of state. 100% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 85% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 26% of men join a fraternity and 29% of women a sorority. 17% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $79,834.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.
  • Dartmouth rates test scores Very Important, so a score at or above its middle-50 range is close to expected rather than optional.
  • Early Decision is worth 16 points of admit rate, but it is binding and removes any ability to compare aid offers.
  • If the first-year answer is no, the transfer route is genuinely wider here and worth planning for from the first semester of college.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $192,848 five years out against $71,866 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about Dartmouth

What do Dartmouth graduates earn?

Dartmouth graduates earn a median $97,434 ten years after entering, and 88% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with Dartmouth

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: Dartmouth’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the Dartmouth profile