Hamilton: the complete school report for parents

Hamilton puts the most weight on course rigor, GPA and class rank. The academic record does most of the work. Hamilton admits between 1 in 10 and 1 in 4 applicants, and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Applying Early Decision changes the odds sharply here: 28.1% of ED applicants were admitted against 13.6% overall.

Hamilton is officially Hamilton College. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
13.6%
8,904 applicants
GPA of admits
Not reported
Admitted off waitlist
49
of 1,226 who waited
Transfer admit rate
18.7%
225 applied
Net price (average)
$28,985
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$78,411
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
90%
Freshmen who return
96%

Is Hamilton a reach, target or safety for your student?

Enter a GPA and course load and the calculator places Hamilton against the figures above. No account needed.

What does Hamilton actually weigh in admissions?

Hamilton rates 3 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA, class rank. It does not consider 1 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is Hamilton's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

Hamilton admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow Hamilton rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresConsidered
the essayImportant
extracurricular activitiesConsidered
recommendationsImportant
personal qualitiesImportant
talentConsidered
class rankVery Important
demonstrated interestConsidered
the interviewConsidered
legacyConsidered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyConsidered
state residencyConsidered
volunteer workConsidered
work experienceConsidered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does Hamilton consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does Hamilton consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Hamilton consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Hamilton consider the application essay?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Hamilton consider extracurricular activities?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Hamilton consider recommendation letters?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Hamilton consider character and personal qualities?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Hamilton consider a special talent or ability?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Hamilton consider class rank?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Hamilton consider demonstrated interest?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Hamilton consider an interview?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Hamilton consider legacy status?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. It can act as a tiebreaker but will not carry a weak application.

Does Hamilton consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does Hamilton consider where we live?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Hamilton consider state residency?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Hamilton consider volunteer work?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Hamilton consider work experience?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Hamilton consider religious affiliation?

No. Hamilton does not consider it.

What is the Hamilton waitlist really like?

Hamilton offered a place on its waiting list to 2,032 applicants and 1,226 accepted one. 49 were ultimately admitted. That is 4.0% of those who waited.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

Hamilton admitted 18.7% of 225 transfer applicants, against 13.6% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

Applying Early Decision changes the odds materially: 28.1% of ED applicants were admitted against 13.6% overall, a gap of 15 points. ED is binding, so that advantage costs the ability to compare financial-aid offers.

Hamilton application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineJanuary 6
Decisions releasedApril 1
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredYes
Early Decision deadlineNovember 15
Early Decision II offeredYes
Early Decision II deadlineJanuary 6
Early Action offeredNo
Application fee$65
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What will Hamilton actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $28,985 a year at Hamilton after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $75,210. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 100% of demonstrated need on average.

40% of Hamilton graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $17,971 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $180 a month in repayment. Hamilton’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from Hamilton pay off?

Graduates earn a median $78,411 ten years after entering, and $60,082 at six years. 95% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 90% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

$108,312 to $58,619, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at Hamilton:

Hamilton median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Economics$108,31288
Mathematics$94,41732
Political Science and Government$80,73240
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$58,61934

College Scorecard, by field of study.

Will my child actually graduate?

96% of first-years return for a second year. 90% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 86.3% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 90.7% of everyone else, a gap of 4.4 points.

How big are the classes?

72% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 0% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 9:1, and 76% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by New England Commission on Higher Education.

What is life at Hamilton like?

1,980 undergraduates, 70% of first-years from out of state. 100% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 100% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 11% of men join a fraternity and 14% of women a sorority. 13% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $78,373.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.
  • Early Decision is worth 15 points of admit rate, but it is binding and removes any ability to compare aid offers.
  • The waitlist is live but thin: 49 of 1,226 who waited were admitted, about 4%.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $108,312 five years out against $58,619 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about Hamilton

Does the Hamilton waitlist move?

1,226 students accepted a place on the Hamilton waiting list and 49 were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.

What do Hamilton graduates earn?

Hamilton graduates earn a median $78,411 ten years after entering, and 95% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with Hamilton

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: Hamilton’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the Hamilton profile