Lafayette: the complete school report for parents

Lafayette puts the most weight on course rigor and GPA. The academic record does most of the work. With a 31.2% admit rate and 63% of enrolled students at a 3.50 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Lafayette graduates Pell-grant students at 85.0% against 85.0% for everyone else, a gap most universities do not close.

Lafayette is officially Lafayette College. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
31.2%
10,556 applicants
GPA of admits
3.50+
63% at or above
Admitted off waitlist
171
of 1,316 who waited
Transfer admit rate
22.8%
233 applied
Net price (average)
$34,433
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$91,410
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
85%
Freshmen who return
91%

Is Lafayette a reach, target or safety for your student?

Enter a GPA and course load and the calculator places Lafayette against the figures above. No account needed.

What does Lafayette actually weigh in admissions?

Lafayette rates 2 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA. It does not consider 2 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is Lafayette's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

Lafayette admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow Lafayette rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresImportant
the essayImportant
extracurricular activitiesImportant
recommendationsImportant
personal qualitiesImportant
talentImportant
class rankImportant
demonstrated interestImportant
the interviewImportant
legacyConsidered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyConsidered
state residencyNot Considered
volunteer workConsidered
work experienceConsidered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does Lafayette consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does Lafayette consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Lafayette consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Lafayette consider the application essay?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Lafayette consider extracurricular activities?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Lafayette consider recommendation letters?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Lafayette consider character and personal qualities?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Lafayette consider a special talent or ability?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Lafayette consider class rank?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Lafayette consider demonstrated interest?

Yes. It is an important factor. Visits, emails and opened mail are tracked and counted, so engage early.

Does Lafayette consider an interview?

Yes. It is an important factor. Offer to interview if invited; it carries real weight here.

Does Lafayette consider legacy status?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. It can act as a tiebreaker but will not carry a weak application.

Does Lafayette consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does Lafayette consider where we live?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Lafayette consider state residency?

No. Lafayette does not consider it.

Does Lafayette consider volunteer work?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Lafayette consider work experience?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Lafayette consider religious affiliation?

No. Lafayette does not consider it.

What GPA do admitted students actually have?

63% of enrolled students had a 3.50 GPA or above. The average was 3.56 on a 4 scale, reported for 99.14% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.

Lafayette high school GPA distribution of enrolled students
High school GPAShare of enrolled students
4.012.46%
3.75–3.9924.64%
3.50–3.7426.38%
3.25–3.4916.81%
3.00–3.2412.46%
2.50–2.996.81%
2.00–2.490.43%

What is the Lafayette waitlist really like?

Lafayette offered a place on its waiting list to 2,660 applicants and 1,316 accepted one. 171 were ultimately admitted. That is 13.0% of those who waited.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

Lafayette admitted 22.8% of 233 transfer applicants, against 31.2% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

Applying Early Decision changes the odds materially: 38.0% of ED applicants were admitted against 31.2% overall, a gap of 7 points. ED is binding, so that advantage costs the ability to compare financial-aid offers.

Lafayette application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineJanuary 15
Decisions releasedMarch 23
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredYes
Early Decision deadlineNovember 15
Early Decision II offeredYes
Early Decision II deadlineFebruary 1
Early Action offeredNo
Application fee$65
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What does my child need to take in high school?

Lafayette sets no fixed course requirements, but recommends 16 academic units. A college-preparatory program is recommended. A GED is accepted.

Lafayette high school course requirements, in years
SubjectRequiredRecommended
EnglishNot stated4 years
MathematicsNot stated3 years
ScienceNot stated2 years
Foreign languageNot stated2 years

What will Lafayette actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $34,433 a year at Lafayette after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $70,486. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 100% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 172 merit awards averaging $23,965 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

37% of Lafayette graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $34,810 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $170 a month in repayment. Lafayette’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from Lafayette pay off?

Graduates earn a median $91,410 ten years after entering, and $80,614 at six years. 92% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 91% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

$106,100 to $59,301, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at Lafayette:

Lafayette median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Economics$106,100140
Chemical Engineering$97,67831
Mechanical Engineering$94,14463
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$92,88717
Civil Engineering$90,80233
International Relations and National Security Studies$89,75837
Neurobiology and Neurosciences$82,69846
Political Science and Government$81,96684
Biology, General$78,66948
English Language and Literature, General$74,42632
Psychology, General$74,29066
Fine and Studio Arts$59,30116

College Scorecard, by field of study.

Will my child actually graduate?

91% of first-years return for a second year. 85% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 85.0% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 85.0% of everyone else, a gap of 0.0 points.

How big are the classes?

65% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 0% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 10:1, and 87% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

What is life at Lafayette like?

2,675 undergraduates, 85% of first-years from out of state. 99% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 94% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 24% of men join a fraternity and 36% of women a sorority. 15% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $85,923.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten. Lafayette recommends 16 academic units.
  • 63% of enrolled students are at a 3.50 GPA or above, averaging 3.56. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
  • The waitlist is live but thin: 171 of 1,316 who waited were admitted, about 13%.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $106,100 five years out against $59,301 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about Lafayette

What GPA do you need for Lafayette?

63% of enrolled students at Lafayette had a high school GPA of 3.50 or above, and the average was 3.56, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.

Does the Lafayette waitlist move?

1,316 students accepted a place on the Lafayette waiting list and 171 were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.

What do Lafayette graduates earn?

Lafayette graduates earn a median $91,410 ten years after entering, and 92% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with Lafayette

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: Lafayette’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the Lafayette profile