University of Rochester: the complete school report for parents

University of Rochester rates 4 of the 18 admission factors Very Important, among them course rigor, GPA and extracurricular activities. A second tier of the essay, recommendations and talent carries real weight too. With a 41.9% admit rate and 56% of enrolled students at a 3.75 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Major matters more than the name on the diploma here: five years out, Mathematics graduates earn a median $119,738 against $34,412 for Music.

University of Rochester is officially University of Rochester, also known as U Of Rochester or Univ Of Rochester. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
41.9%
21,609 applicants
GPA of admits
3.75+
56% at or above
Admitted off waitlist
262
of 741 who waited
Transfer admit rate
37.8%
809 applied
Net price (average)
$29,278
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$79,042
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
83%
Freshmen who return
91%

What does University of Rochester actually weigh in admissions?

University of Rochester rates 4 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA, extracurricular activities, personal qualities. It does not consider 2 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is University of Rochester's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

University of Rochester admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow University of Rochester rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresConsidered
the essayImportant
extracurricular activitiesVery Important
recommendationsImportant
personal qualitiesVery Important
talentImportant
class rankConsidered
demonstrated interestImportant
the interviewImportant
legacyConsidered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyConsidered
state residencyNot Considered
volunteer workConsidered
work experienceConsidered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does University of Rochester consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does University of Rochester consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does University of Rochester consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Rochester consider the application essay?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does University of Rochester consider extracurricular activities?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does University of Rochester consider recommendation letters?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does University of Rochester consider character and personal qualities?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does University of Rochester consider a special talent or ability?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does University of Rochester consider class rank?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Rochester consider demonstrated interest?

Yes. It is an important factor. Visits, emails and opened mail are tracked and counted, so engage early.

Does University of Rochester consider an interview?

Yes. It is an important factor. Offer to interview if invited; it carries real weight here.

Does University of Rochester consider legacy status?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. It can act as a tiebreaker but will not carry a weak application.

Does University of Rochester consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does University of Rochester consider where we live?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Rochester consider state residency?

No. University of Rochester does not consider it.

Does University of Rochester consider volunteer work?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Rochester consider work experience?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Rochester consider religious affiliation?

No. University of Rochester does not consider it.

What GPA do admitted students actually have?

56% of enrolled students had a 3.75 GPA or above. The average was 3.73 on a 4 scale, reported for 99.9% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.

University of Rochester high school GPA distribution of enrolled students
High school GPAShare of enrolled students
4.024.33%
3.75–3.9931.57%
3.50–3.7425.22%
3.25–3.4911.72%
3.00–3.245.55%
2.50–2.991.61%
2.00–2.49Not reported

What is the University of Rochester waitlist really like?

University of Rochester offered a place on its waiting list to 1,197 applicants and 741 accepted one. 262 were ultimately admitted. That is 35.4% of those who waited.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

University of Rochester admitted 37.8% of 809 transfer applicants, against 41.9% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here. The minimum college GPA considered is 3.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

University of Rochester reports its early rounds below.

University of Rochester application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineJanuary 5
Decisions releasedApril 1
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredYes
Early Decision deadlineNovember 1
Early Decision II offeredYes
Early Decision II deadlineJanuary 5
Early Action offeredNo
Application fee$50
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What will University of Rochester actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $29,278 a year at University of Rochester after grants and scholarships. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 97% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 260 merit awards averaging $16,073 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

41% of University of Rochester graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $30,785 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $223 a month in repayment. University of Rochester’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from University of Rochester pay off?

Graduates earn a median $79,042 ten years after entering, and $68,333 at six years. 85% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 80% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

$119,738 to $34,412, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at University of Rochester:

University of Rochester median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Mathematics$119,73870
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$108,71465
Chemical Engineering$105,18945
Economics$102,906103
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$101,45760
Mechanical Engineering$92,36359
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$92,348243
Biology, General$79,479183
Social Sciences, Other$72,56625
Political Science and Government$64,94468
English Language and Literature, General$49,04633
Music$34,412128

College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.

Will my child actually graduate?

91% of first-years return for a second year. 83% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 77.3% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 86.7% of everyone else, a gap of 9.4 points.

How big are the classes?

70% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 2% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 9:1, and 95% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

What is life at University of Rochester like?

6,096 undergraduates, 55% of first-years from out of state. 98% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 71% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 8% of men join a fraternity and 11.2% of women a sorority. 19% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $76,108.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.
  • 56% of enrolled students are at a 3.75 GPA or above, averaging 3.73. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
  • The waitlist is live but thin: 262 of 741 who waited were admitted, about 35%.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $119,738 five years out against $34,412 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about University of Rochester

What GPA do you need for University of Rochester?

56% of enrolled students at University of Rochester had a high school GPA of 3.75 or above, and the average was 3.73, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.

Does the University of Rochester waitlist move?

741 students accepted a place on the University of Rochester waiting list and 262 were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.

What do University of Rochester graduates earn?

University of Rochester graduates earn a median $79,042 ten years after entering, and 85% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with University of Rochester

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: University of Rochester’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the University of Rochester profile