Villanova University: the complete school report for parents

Villanova University puts the most weight on course rigor, GPA and the essay. A second tier of extracurricular activities, recommendations and personal qualities carries real weight too. It does not consider demonstrated interest and the interview, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. With a 28.1% admit rate and 73% of enrolled students at a 3.75 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Transfer applicants are admitted at 56.7% against 28.1% for first-years, so the transfer route is materially wider.

Villanova University is officially Villanova University. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
28.1%
25,841 applicants
GPA of admits
3.75+
73% at or above
Admitted off waitlist
28
of 2,205 who waited
Transfer admit rate
56.7%
575 applied
Net price (average)
$43,756
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$100,423
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
93%
89% in four
Freshmen who return
95%

What does Villanova University actually weigh in admissions?

Villanova University rates 3 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA, the essay. It does not consider 3 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is Villanova University's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

Villanova University admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow Villanova University rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresConsidered
the essayVery Important
extracurricular activitiesImportant
recommendationsImportant
personal qualitiesImportant
talentImportant
class rankConsidered
demonstrated interestNot Considered
the interviewNot Considered
legacyConsidered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyConsidered
state residencyConsidered
volunteer workImportant
work experienceConsidered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does Villanova University consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does Villanova University consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Villanova University consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Villanova University consider the application essay?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The essay is doing as much work as the transcript.

Does Villanova University consider extracurricular activities?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Villanova University consider recommendation letters?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Villanova University consider character and personal qualities?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Villanova University consider a special talent or ability?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Villanova University consider class rank?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Villanova University consider demonstrated interest?

No. Villanova University does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.

Does Villanova University consider an interview?

No. Villanova University does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.

Does Villanova University consider legacy status?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. It can act as a tiebreaker but will not carry a weak application.

Does Villanova University consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does Villanova University consider where we live?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Villanova University consider state residency?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Villanova University consider volunteer work?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Villanova University consider work experience?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Villanova University consider religious affiliation?

No. Villanova University does not consider it.

What GPA do admitted students actually have?

73% of enrolled students had a 3.75 GPA or above. The average was 3.87 on a 4 scale, reported for 16% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.

Villanova University high school GPA distribution of enrolled students
High school GPAShare of enrolled students
4.032.01%
3.75–3.9940.92%
3.50–3.7423.1%
3.25–3.492.64%
3.00–3.240.99%
2.50–2.990.33%
2.00–2.490%

What is the Villanova University waitlist really like?

Villanova University offered a place on its waiting list to 5,449 applicants and 2,205 accepted one. 28 were ultimately admitted. That is 1.3% of those who waited.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

Villanova University admitted 56.7% of 575 transfer applicants, against 28.1% of first-year applicants. For a student who does not get in at eighteen, the transfer route is a genuinely wider door and worth planning for deliberately. The minimum college GPA considered is 2.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

Applying Early Decision changes the odds materially: 59.8% of ED applicants were admitted against 28.1% overall, a gap of 32 points. ED is binding, so that advantage costs the ability to compare financial-aid offers.

Villanova University application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineJanuary 15
Decisions releasedApril 1
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredYes
Early Decision deadlineNovember 1
Early Decision II offeredYes
Early Decision II deadlineJanuary 15
Early Action offeredYes
Early Action deadlineNovember 1
Application fee$80
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What does my child need to take in high school?

Villanova University requires 21 academic units and recommends 22. A college-preparatory program is required. A GED is accepted.

Villanova University high school course requirements, in years
SubjectRequiredRecommended
English4 years4 years
Mathematics4 years4 years
Science4 years4 years
of which lab science2 yearsNot stated
Foreign language3 years4 years

What will Villanova University actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $43,756 a year at Villanova University after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $72,990. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 83.5% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 119 merit awards averaging $38,439 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

45% of Villanova University graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $43,841 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $274 a month in repayment. Villanova University’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from Villanova University pay off?

Graduates earn a median $100,423 ten years after entering, and $84,905 at six years. 94% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 90% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

$149,830 to $70,587, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at Villanova University:

Villanova University median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Business/Managerial Economics$149,83023
Finance and Financial Management Services$133,548231
Real Estate$124,78941
Computer Engineering$115,71441
Accounting and Related Services$114,801109
Mechanical Engineering$113,96677
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$109,52728
Computer and Information Sciences, General$105,26631
Chemical Engineering$100,94650
Communication and Media Studies$74,641155
Psychology, General$73,774105
English Language and Literature, General$70,58720

College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.

Will my child actually graduate?

95% of first-years return for a second year. 89% graduate within four years and 93% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 93.0% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 92.8% of everyone else, a gap of -0.2 points.

How big are the classes?

46% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 0% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 10:1, and 63% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

What is life at Villanova University like?

6,935 undergraduates, 78.4% of first-years from out of state. 99% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 82% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 17% of men join a fraternity and 39% of women a sorority. 13% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $90,091.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten. Villanova University recommends 22 academic units.
  • 73% of enrolled students are at a 3.75 GPA or above, averaging 3.87. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
  • Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
  • Early Decision is worth 32 points of admit rate, but it is binding and removes any ability to compare aid offers.
  • The waitlist is live but thin: 28 of 2,205 who waited were admitted, about 1%.
  • If the first-year answer is no, the transfer route is genuinely wider here and worth planning for from the first semester of college.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $149,830 five years out against $70,587 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about Villanova University

What GPA do you need for Villanova University?

73% of enrolled students at Villanova University had a high school GPA of 3.75 or above, and the average was 3.87, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.

Does the Villanova University waitlist move?

2,205 students accepted a place on the Villanova University waiting list and 28 were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.

What do Villanova University graduates earn?

Villanova University graduates earn a median $100,423 ten years after entering, and 94% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with Villanova University

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: Villanova University’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the Villanova University profile