Oklahoma State University-Main Campus: the complete school report for parents

It does not consider legacy, demonstrated interest and the interview, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. With a 73.7% admit rate and 58% of enrolled students at a 3.75 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Major matters more than the name on the diploma here: five years out, Chemical Engineering graduates earn a median $106,170 against $42,404 for Zoology/Animal Biology.

Oklahoma State University-Main Campus is officially Oklahoma State University-Main Campus, also known as Oklahoma State University. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
73.7%
28,024 applicants
GPA of admits
3.75+
58% at or above
Testing
Test-optional
Transfer admit rate
52.1%
4,997 applied
Net price (average)
$17,447
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$57,413
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
69%
54% in four
Freshmen who return
82%

What does Oklahoma State University-Main Campus actually weigh in admissions?

Oklahoma State University-Main Campus rates none of the 18 factors "Very Important". It does not consider 11 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is Oklahoma State University-Main Campus's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

Oklahoma State University-Main Campus admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow Oklahoma State University-Main Campus rates it
course rigorNot Considered
GPAConsidered
test scoresConsidered
the essayConsidered
extracurricular activitiesConsidered
recommendationsConsidered
personal qualitiesNot Considered
talentNot Considered
class rankConsidered
demonstrated interestNot Considered
the interviewNot Considered
legacyNot Considered
first-generation statusNot Considered
geographyNot Considered
state residencyNot Considered
volunteer workConsidered
work experienceNot Considered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does Oklahoma State University-Main Campus consider how hard my child’s courses were?

No. Oklahoma State University-Main Campus does not consider it.

Does Oklahoma State University-Main Campus consider GPA?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Oklahoma State University-Main Campus consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Oklahoma State University-Main Campus consider the application essay?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Oklahoma State University-Main Campus consider extracurricular activities?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Oklahoma State University-Main Campus consider recommendation letters?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Oklahoma State University-Main Campus consider character and personal qualities?

No. Oklahoma State University-Main Campus does not consider it.

Does Oklahoma State University-Main Campus consider a special talent or ability?

No. Oklahoma State University-Main Campus does not consider it.

Does Oklahoma State University-Main Campus consider class rank?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Oklahoma State University-Main Campus consider demonstrated interest?

No. Oklahoma State University-Main Campus does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.

Does Oklahoma State University-Main Campus consider an interview?

No. Oklahoma State University-Main Campus does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.

Does Oklahoma State University-Main Campus consider legacy status?

No. Oklahoma State University-Main Campus does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.

Does Oklahoma State University-Main Campus consider being first-generation?

No. Oklahoma State University-Main Campus does not consider it.

Does Oklahoma State University-Main Campus consider where we live?

No. Oklahoma State University-Main Campus does not consider it.

Does Oklahoma State University-Main Campus consider state residency?

No. Oklahoma State University-Main Campus does not consider it.

Does Oklahoma State University-Main Campus consider volunteer work?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Oklahoma State University-Main Campus consider work experience?

No. Oklahoma State University-Main Campus does not consider it.

Does Oklahoma State University-Main Campus consider religious affiliation?

No. Oklahoma State University-Main Campus does not consider it.

What GPA do admitted students actually have?

58% of enrolled students had a 3.75 GPA or above. The average was 3.76 on a 4 scale, reported for 99.63% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.

Oklahoma State University-Main Campus high school GPA distribution of enrolled students
High school GPAShare of enrolled students
4.035.5%
3.75–3.9922.84%
3.50–3.7416.44%
3.25–3.4910.78%
3.00–3.247.72%
2.50–2.995.84%
2.00–2.490.78%

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

Oklahoma State University-Main Campus admitted 52.1% of 4,997 transfer applicants, against 73.7% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here. The minimum college GPA considered is 2.25.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

Oklahoma State University-Main Campus offers neither Early Decision nor Early Action, so there is no early round to strategize about and every applicant is read in one pool.

Oklahoma State University-Main Campus application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineNot reported
Decisions releasedJuly 1
Reply / deposit deadlineNot reported
Early Decision offeredNo
Early Action offeredNo
Application fee$50
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What does my child need to take in high school?

Oklahoma State University-Main Campus requires 15 academic units. A college-preparatory program is recommended. A GED is accepted.

Oklahoma State University-Main Campus high school course requirements, in years
SubjectRequiredRecommended
English4 yearsNot stated
Mathematics3 yearsNot stated
Science3 yearsNot stated
of which lab science3 yearsNot stated
History1 yearNot stated
Visual / performing arts2 yearsNot stated

What will Oklahoma State University-Main Campus actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $17,447 a year at Oklahoma State University-Main Campus after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $5,417. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 71.1% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 1,978 merit awards averaging $7,134 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

What families at each income level actually paid:

Oklahoma State University-Main Campus average net price by family income
Family incomeAverage net price per year
Under $30,000$12,243
$30,000–$48,000$12,314
$48,000–$75,000$15,893
$75,000–$110,000$21,896
Over $110,000$24,711

48% of Oklahoma State University-Main Campus graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $26,744 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $217 a month in repayment. Oklahoma State University-Main Campus’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from Oklahoma State University-Main Campus pay off?

Graduates earn a median $57,413 ten years after entering, and $46,855 at six years. 80% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 64% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

Four-year net cost against that earnings premium:

Years for Oklahoma State University-Main Campus earnings premium to cover four years of net cost
Family incomeFour-year net costYears to pay back
Under $30,000$48,9723.7
$30,000–$48,000$49,2563.7
$48,000–$75,000$63,5724.7
$75,000–$110,000$87,5846.5
Over $110,000$98,8447.4

A scale, not a forecast: it assumes aid and earnings hold steady.

$106,170 to $42,404, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at Oklahoma State University-Main Campus:

Oklahoma State University-Main Campus median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Chemical Engineering$106,17046
Construction Engineering Technology/Technician$104,69940
Computer and Information Sciences, General$97,420144
Mechanical Engineering$91,640269
Accounting and Related Services$83,450171
Finance and Financial Management Services$82,818194
Marketing$72,756334
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$65,87675
Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services$65,71883
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$45,993113
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology$44,51563
Zoology/Animal Biology$42,40474

College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.

Will my child actually graduate?

82% of first-years return for a second year. 54% graduate within four years and 69% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 57.5% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 75.5% of everyone else, a gap of 17.9 points.

How big are the classes?

25% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 8% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 19:1, and 86% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Higher Learning Commission.

What is life at Oklahoma State University-Main Campus like?

23,003 undergraduates, 38% of first-years from out of state. 91% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 41% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 18% of men join a fraternity and 23% of women a sorority. 29% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $55,237.

What this means for your student

  • 58% of enrolled students are at a 3.75 GPA or above, averaging 3.76. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
  • Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $106,170 five years out against $42,404 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about Oklahoma State University-Main Campus

What GPA do you need for Oklahoma State University-Main Campus?

58% of enrolled students at Oklahoma State University-Main Campus had a high school GPA of 3.75 or above, and the average was 3.76, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.

What do Oklahoma State University-Main Campus graduates earn?

Oklahoma State University-Main Campus graduates earn a median $57,413 ten years after entering, and 80% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with Oklahoma State University-Main Campus

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: Oklahoma State University-Main Campus’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the Oklahoma State University-Main Campus profile