Bates: the complete school report for parents

Bates rates 8 of the 18 admission factors Very Important, among them course rigor, GPA and the essay. This is a genuinely holistic review. Bates admits between 1 in 10 and 1 in 4 applicants, and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Applying Early Decision changes the odds sharply here: 33.5% of ED applicants were admitted against 14.8% overall.

Bates is officially Bates College. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
14.8%
9,660 applicants
GPA of admits
Not reported
Admitted off waitlist
39
of 795 who waited
Transfer admit rate
20.6%
165 applied
Net price (average)
$29,351
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$69,498
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
89%
Freshmen who return
92%

What does Bates actually weigh in admissions?

Bates rates 8 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA, the essay, extracurricular activities, recommendations, personal qualities, talent, class rank. It does not consider 1 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is Bates's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

Bates admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow Bates rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresConsidered
the essayVery Important
extracurricular activitiesVery Important
recommendationsVery Important
personal qualitiesVery Important
talentVery Important
class rankVery Important
demonstrated interestImportant
the interviewConsidered
legacyConsidered
first-generation statusImportant
geographyImportant
state residencyImportant
volunteer workConsidered
work experienceConsidered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does Bates consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does Bates consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Bates consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Bates consider the application essay?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The essay is doing as much work as the transcript.

Does Bates consider extracurricular activities?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Bates consider recommendation letters?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Bates consider character and personal qualities?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Bates consider a special talent or ability?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Bates consider class rank?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Bates consider demonstrated interest?

Yes. It is an important factor. Visits, emails and opened mail are tracked and counted, so engage early.

Does Bates consider an interview?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Bates consider legacy status?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. It can act as a tiebreaker but will not carry a weak application.

Does Bates consider being first-generation?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Bates consider where we live?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Bates consider state residency?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Bates consider volunteer work?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Bates consider work experience?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Bates consider religious affiliation?

No. Bates does not consider it.

What is the Bates waitlist really like?

Bates offered a place on its waiting list to 2,103 applicants and 795 accepted one. 39 were ultimately admitted. That is 4.9% of those who waited.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

Bates admitted 20.6% of 165 transfer applicants, against 14.8% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

Applying Early Decision changes the odds materially: 33.5% of ED applicants were admitted against 14.8% overall, a gap of 19 points. ED is binding, so that advantage costs the ability to compare financial-aid offers.

Bates application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineJanuary 10
Decisions releasedApril 1
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredYes
Early Decision deadlineNovember 15
Early Decision II offeredYes
Early Decision II deadlineJanuary 10
Early Action offeredNo
Application fee$0
Fee waiver availableNot reported
Deferred admission offeredYes

What does my child need to take in high school?

Bates requires 17 academic units and recommends 23. A college-preparatory program is required.

Bates high school course requirements, in years
SubjectRequiredRecommended
English4 years4 years
Mathematics3 years4 years
Science3 years4 years
of which lab science2 yearsNot stated
Foreign language2 years4 years
History3 yearsNot stated
Visual / performing arts0 yearsNot stated

What will Bates actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $29,351 a year at Bates after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $73,760. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 100% of demonstrated need on average.

23% of Bates graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $35,206 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $151 a month in repayment. Bates’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from Bates pay off?

Graduates earn a median $69,498 ten years after entering, and $59,202 at six years. 87% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 88% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

$108,673 to $56,602, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at Bates:

Bates median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Economics$108,67368
History$75,17526
Political Science and Government$68,91057
English Language and Literature, General$60,04420
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$56,60240

College Scorecard, by field of study.

Will my child actually graduate?

92% of first-years return for a second year. 89% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 85.0% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 85.0% of everyone else, a gap of 0.0 points.

How big are the classes?

65% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 0% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 9:1, and 95% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by New England Commission on Higher Education.

What is life at Bates like?

1,736 undergraduates, 89.53% of first-years from out of state. 100% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 92.5% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 0% of men join a fraternity and 0% of women a sorority. 15% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $77,753.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten. Bates recommends 23 academic units.
  • Early Decision is worth 19 points of admit rate, but it is binding and removes any ability to compare aid offers.
  • The waitlist is live but thin: 39 of 795 who waited were admitted, about 5%.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $108,673 five years out against $56,602 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about Bates

Does the Bates waitlist move?

795 students accepted a place on the Bates waiting list and 39 were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.

What do Bates graduates earn?

Bates graduates earn a median $69,498 ten years after entering, and 87% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with Bates

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: Bates’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the Bates profile