Vassar College: the complete school report for parents

Vassar College rates 7 of the 18 admission factors Very Important, among them course rigor, GPA and the essay. This is a genuinely holistic review. It does not consider demonstrated interest, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. Vassar College admits between 1 in 10 and 1 in 4 applicants, and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Applying Early Decision changes the odds sharply here: 38.4% of ED applicants were admitted against 20.9% overall.

Vassar College is officially Vassar College. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
20.9%
11,118 applicants
GPA of admits
Not reported
Admitted off waitlist
30
of 510 who waited
Transfer admit rate
14.8%
365 applied
Net price (average)
$39,343
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$71,366
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
88%
81% in four
Freshmen who return
95%

What does Vassar College actually weigh in admissions?

Vassar College rates 7 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA, the essay, extracurricular activities, recommendations, personal qualities, talent. It does not consider 2 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is Vassar College's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

Vassar College admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow Vassar College rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresConsidered
the essayVery Important
extracurricular activitiesVery Important
recommendationsVery Important
personal qualitiesVery Important
talentVery Important
class rankImportant
demonstrated interestNot Considered
the interviewConsidered
legacyConsidered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyConsidered
state residencyNot Considered
volunteer workImportant
work experienceImportant
religious affiliationConsidered

Does Vassar College consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does Vassar College consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Vassar College consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Vassar College consider the application essay?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The essay is doing as much work as the transcript.

Does Vassar College consider extracurricular activities?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Vassar College consider recommendation letters?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Vassar College consider character and personal qualities?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Vassar College consider a special talent or ability?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Vassar College consider class rank?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Vassar College consider demonstrated interest?

No. Vassar College does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.

Does Vassar College consider an interview?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Vassar College consider legacy status?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. It can act as a tiebreaker but will not carry a weak application.

Does Vassar College consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does Vassar College consider where we live?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Vassar College consider state residency?

No. Vassar College does not consider it.

Does Vassar College consider volunteer work?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Vassar College consider work experience?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Vassar College consider religious affiliation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

What is the Vassar College waitlist really like?

Vassar College offered a place on its waiting list to 918 applicants and 510 accepted one. 30 were ultimately admitted. That is 5.9% of those who waited.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

Vassar College admitted 14.8% of 365 transfer applicants, against 20.9% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

Applying Early Decision changes the odds materially: 38.4% of ED applicants were admitted against 20.9% overall, a gap of 18 points. ED is binding, so that advantage costs the ability to compare financial-aid offers.

Vassar College application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineJanuary 1
Decisions releasedApril 1
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredYes
Early Decision deadlineNovember 15
Early Decision II offeredYes
Early Decision II deadlineJanuary 1
Early Action offeredNo
Application fee$65
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What does my child need to take in high school?

Vassar College sets no fixed course requirements, but recommends 20 academic units. A college-preparatory program is required. A GED is accepted.

Vassar College high school course requirements, in years
SubjectRequiredRecommended
EnglishNot stated4 years
MathematicsNot stated4 years
ScienceNot stated4 years
Foreign languageNot stated4 years

What will Vassar College actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $39,343 a year at Vassar College after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $76,140. The published price is not what most families pay.

45% of Vassar College graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $28,375 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $197 a month in repayment. Vassar College’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from Vassar College pay off?

Graduates earn a median $71,366 ten years after entering, and $49,177 at six years. 80% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 93% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

$115,240 to $38,959, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at Vassar College:

Vassar College median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Computer and Information Sciences, General$115,24041
Economics$103,04356
Mathematics$77,60249
International Relations and National Security Studies$75,74824
Political Science and Government$72,32746
Biology, General$71,37741
Fine and Studio Arts$66,30424
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$64,94723
English Language and Literature, General$58,43029
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$54,74623
East Asian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$52,55216
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$38,95925

College Scorecard, by field of study.

Will my child actually graduate?

95% of first-years return for a second year. 81% graduate within four years and 88% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 87.0% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 88.0% of everyone else, a gap of 1.0 points.

How big are the classes?

69% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 0% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 7:1, and 85% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

What is life at Vassar College like?

2,514 undergraduates, 66% of first-years from out of state. 100% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 97% across all undergraduates. 14% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $80,899.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten. Vassar College recommends 20 academic units.
  • Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
  • Early Decision is worth 18 points of admit rate, but it is binding and removes any ability to compare aid offers.
  • The waitlist is live but thin: 30 of 510 who waited were admitted, about 6%.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $115,240 five years out against $38,959 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about Vassar College

Does the Vassar College waitlist move?

510 students accepted a place on the Vassar College waiting list and 30 were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.

What do Vassar College graduates earn?

Vassar College graduates earn a median $71,366 ten years after entering, and 80% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with Vassar College

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: Vassar College’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the Vassar College profile