USF: the complete school report for parents

USF puts the most weight on course rigor and GPA. The academic record does most of the work. It does not consider legacy, so family connections carry no weight. With a 61.7% admit rate and 64% of enrolled students at a 3.50 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Major matters more than the name on the diploma here: five years out, Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing graduates earn a median $149,741 against $36,545 for Fine and Studio Arts.

USF is officially University of San Francisco, also known as U Of San Francisco or Univ Of San Francisco. Admissions figures below come from its 2024-2025 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-07.

Admit rate
61.7%
24,888 applicants
GPA of admits
3.50+
64% at or above
Admitted off waitlist
364
of 768 who waited
Transfer admit rate
48.8%
1,053 applied
Net price (average)
$41,431
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$89,812
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
70%
63% in four
Freshmen who return
84%

Is USF a reach, target or safety for your student?

Enter a GPA and course load and the calculator places USF against the figures above. No account needed.

What’s new at USF for 2026-27

Undergraduate tuition rises 3.25%, against a backdrop of federal loan changes. USF budget papers set an undergraduate tuition increase of 3.25% for the year, with student housing and meal plans rising by the same amount. Separately, and affecting families at every university rather than USF alone, the federal One Big Beautiful Bill Act ends Grad PLUS loans from 1 July 2026 and caps Parent PLUS borrowing at $20,000 a year per dependent student with a $65,000 aggregate limit. Budget against the net price below, not the sticker.

Source: Tuition, Fee, Room and Board Recommendations, myUSF; One Big Beautiful Bill Act updates, USF Office of Financial Aid

What does USF actually weigh in admissions?

USF rates 2 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA. It does not consider 4 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is USF's 2024-2025 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

USF admission factors, 2024-2025 Common Data Set
FactorHow USF rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresConsidered
the essayImportant
extracurricular activitiesConsidered
recommendationsConsidered
personal qualitiesImportant
talentConsidered
class rankConsidered
demonstrated interestConsidered
the interviewConsidered
legacyNot Considered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyNot Considered
state residencyNot Considered
volunteer workImportant
work experienceConsidered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does USF consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does USF consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does USF consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does USF consider the application essay?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does USF consider extracurricular activities?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does USF consider recommendation letters?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does USF consider character and personal qualities?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does USF consider a special talent or ability?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does USF consider class rank?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does USF consider demonstrated interest?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does USF consider an interview?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does USF consider legacy status?

No. USF does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.

Does USF consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does USF consider where we live?

No. USF does not consider it.

Does USF consider state residency?

No. USF does not consider it.

Does USF consider volunteer work?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does USF consider work experience?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does USF consider religious affiliation?

No. USF does not consider it.

What GPA do admitted students actually have?

64% of enrolled students had a 3.50 GPA or above. The average was 3.62 on a 4 scale, reported for 100% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.

USF high school GPA distribution of enrolled students
High school GPAShare of enrolled students
4.020.65%
3.75–3.9924.24%
3.50–3.7419.24%
3.25–3.4915.87%
3.00–3.2411.63%
2.50–2.998.26%
2.00–2.490.11%

What is the USF waitlist really like?

USF offered a place on its waiting list to 1,327 applicants and 768 accepted one. 364 were ultimately admitted. That is 47.4% of those who waited.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

USF admitted 48.8% of 1,053 transfer applicants, against 61.7% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here. The minimum college GPA considered is 2.5.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

USF reports its early rounds below.

USF application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineJanuary 15
Decisions releasedMarch 15
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredYes
Early Decision deadlineNovember 1
Early Action offeredYes
Early Action deadlineNovember 1
Application fee$70
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What does my child need to take in high school?

USF requires 20 academic units. A college-preparatory program is required. A GED is accepted.

USF high school course requirements, in years
SubjectRequiredRecommended
English4 yearsNot stated
Mathematics3 yearsNot stated
Science2 yearsNot stated
of which lab science2 yearsNot stated
Foreign language2 yearsNot stated
History6 yearsNot stated

What will USF actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $41,431 a year at USF after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $61,720. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 71% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 271 merit awards averaging $25,966 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

48% of USF graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $38,127 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $244 a month in repayment. USF’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from USF pay off?

Graduates earn a median $89,812 ten years after entering, and $69,951 at six years. 86% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 73% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

$149,741 to $36,545, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at USF:

USF median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$149,741247
Computer Science$149,33176
Finance and Financial Management Services$107,184109
Business Administration, Management and Operations$104,526125
Accounting and Related Services$101,04037
International Business$92,95632
Marketing$91,873110
Economics$87,37845
Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations$75,47441
Sociology$60,74744
International Relations and National Security Studies$53,54440
Fine and Studio Arts$36,54510

College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.

Will my child actually graduate?

84% of first-years return for a second year. 63% graduate within four years and 70% within six (Fall 2018 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 66.3% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 72.2% of everyone else, a gap of 5.8 points.

How big are the classes?

43% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 0% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 11:1, and 40% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Western Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission.

What is life at USF like?

5,321 undergraduates, 30% of first-years from out of state. 77% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 62% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 2% of men join a fraternity and 6% of women a sorority. 28% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $82,472.

USF requires all first-time first-year students to live on campus for their first two semesters, and guarantees on-campus housing for the first four semesters. Students reapply after the first year. The university is explicit that the guarantee for first and second years absorbs the supply, so students should expect to live off campus from their third year. Living within 20 miles with a parent or guardian is grounds for exemption.

Source: Student Housing, First Year and Transfer Students, myUSF

USF sponsors 14 NCAA Division I programs as the Dons and competes in the West Coast Conference. It is the only Division I university in San Francisco, with 13 team and individual national championships and 101 conference titles.

Source: Athletics, University of San Francisco

How is USF ranked, and how strong is the alumni network?

USF is ranked #110 for national universities in the U.S. News Best Colleges 2026. Its full set of published positions, including the ones that are less flattering:

USF published rankings
RankingPosition
U.S. News Best Colleges 2026, national universities#110
U.S. News Best Colleges 2026, social mobility#59

Shown in full, including the less flattering ones.

Source: USF remains a top university in the latest U.S. News rankings

USF is a Jesuit Catholic university on an urban hilltop campus, with an alumni community built around that mission of educating leaders to fashion a more humane and just world.

Source: Athletics, University of San Francisco

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.
  • 64% of enrolled students are at a 3.50 GPA or above, averaging 3.62. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
  • The waitlist is live but thin: 364 of 768 who waited were admitted, about 47%.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $149,741 five years out against $36,545 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about USF

What GPA do you need for USF?

64% of enrolled students at USF had a high school GPA of 3.50 or above, and the average was 3.62, according to its 2024-2025 Common Data Set.

Does the USF waitlist move?

768 students accepted a place on the USF waiting list and 364 were admitted in the 2024-2025 cycle.

What do USF graduates earn?

USF graduates earn a median $89,812 ten years after entering, and 86% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with USF

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: USF’s 2024-2025 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-07. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the USF profile