University of Portland: the complete school report for parents

University of Portland puts the most weight on course rigor and GPA. The academic record does most of the work. It does not consider legacy, so family connections carry no weight. University of Portland admits most applicants who meet its requirements, and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Major matters more than the name on the diploma here: five years out, Computer Science graduates earn a median $136,265 against $50,011 for Communication and Media Studies.

University of Portland is officially University of Portland, also known as U Of Portland or Univ Of Portland. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
91.8%
7,686 applicants
GPA of admits
3.69
Admitted off waitlist
85
Transfer admit rate
71.2%
396 applied
Net price (average)
$28,210
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$82,804
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
80%
67% in four
Freshmen who return
86%

What does University of Portland actually weigh in admissions?

University of Portland rates 2 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA. It does not consider 2 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is University of Portland's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

University of Portland admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow University of Portland rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresConsidered
the essayImportant
extracurricular activitiesImportant
recommendationsConsidered
personal qualitiesConsidered
talentImportant
class rankImportant
demonstrated interestConsidered
the interviewConsidered
legacyNot Considered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyConsidered
state residencyNot Considered
volunteer workImportant
work experienceImportant
religious affiliationConsidered

Does University of Portland consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does University of Portland consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does University of Portland consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Portland consider the application essay?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does University of Portland consider extracurricular activities?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does University of Portland consider recommendation letters?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Portland consider character and personal qualities?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Portland consider a special talent or ability?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does University of Portland consider class rank?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does University of Portland consider demonstrated interest?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Portland consider an interview?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Portland consider legacy status?

No. University of Portland does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.

Does University of Portland consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does University of Portland consider where we live?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Portland consider state residency?

No. University of Portland does not consider it.

Does University of Portland consider volunteer work?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does University of Portland consider work experience?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does University of Portland consider religious affiliation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

University of Portland admitted 71.2% of 396 transfer applicants, against 91.8% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

University of Portland reports its early rounds below.

University of Portland application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineFebruary 15
Decisions releasedOctober 1
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredNo
Early Action offeredYes
Early Action deadlineDecember 1
Application fee$0
Fee waiver availableNot reported
Deferred admission offeredYes

What will University of Portland actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $28,210 a year at University of Portland after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $61,000. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 80.4% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 167 merit awards averaging $29,557 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

54% of University of Portland graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $30,014 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $227 a month in repayment. University of Portland’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from University of Portland pay off?

Graduates earn a median $82,804 ten years after entering, and $67,913 at six years. 87% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 87% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

$136,265 to $50,011, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at University of Portland:

University of Portland median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Computer Science$136,26538
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$103,904364
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$97,19122
Finance and Financial Management Services$95,94946
Mechanical Engineering$91,88454
Civil Engineering$86,43924
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods$81,15835
Accounting and Related Services$77,69921
Marketing$68,13051
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$58,39136
Biology, General$53,07698
Communication and Media Studies$50,01111

College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.

Will my child actually graduate?

86% of first-years return for a second year. 67% graduate within four years and 80% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 71.0% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 82.0% of everyone else, a gap of 11.0 points.

How big are the classes?

48% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 0% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 9:1, and 59% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities.

What is life at University of Portland like?

2,814 undergraduates, 53% of first-years from out of state. 80% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 55% across all undergraduates. 18% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $67,900.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $136,265 five years out against $50,011 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about University of Portland

What do University of Portland graduates earn?

University of Portland graduates earn a median $82,804 ten years after entering, and 87% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with University of Portland

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: University of Portland’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the University of Portland profile