Cal State San Bernardino: the complete school report for parents
Cal State San Bernardino puts the most weight on GPA and test scores. The academic record does most of the work. It does not consider legacy, demonstrated interest and the interview, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. With a 94.3% admit rate and 59% of enrolled students at a 3.25 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and a strong test score is close to expected. Major matters more than the name on the diploma here: five years out, Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing graduates earn a median $109,558 against $36,910 for Fine and Studio Arts.
Cal State San Bernardino is officially California State University-San Bernardino, also known as Csu San Bernardino. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.
What does Cal State San Bernardino actually weigh in admissions?
Cal State San Bernardino rates 2 of the 18 factors "Very Important": GPA, test scores. It does not consider 15 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is Cal State San Bernardino's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.
| Factor | How Cal State San Bernardino rates it |
|---|---|
| course rigor | Not Considered |
| GPA | Very Important |
| test scores | Very Important |
| the essay | Not Considered |
| extracurricular activities | Not Considered |
| recommendations | Not Considered |
| personal qualities | Not Considered |
| talent | Not Considered |
| class rank | Not Considered |
| demonstrated interest | Not Considered |
| the interview | Not Considered |
| legacy | Not Considered |
| first-generation status | Not Considered |
| geography | Important |
| state residency | Not Considered |
| volunteer work | Not Considered |
| work experience | Not Considered |
| religious affiliation | Not Considered |
Does Cal State San Bernardino consider how hard my child’s courses were?
No. Cal State San Bernardino does not consider it.
Does Cal State San Bernardino consider GPA?
Yes. It is one of the most important factors.
Does Cal State San Bernardino consider SAT or ACT scores?
Yes. It is one of the most important factors. A score at or above the middle-50 range is close to expected here.
Does Cal State San Bernardino consider the application essay?
No. Cal State San Bernardino does not consider it.
Does Cal State San Bernardino consider extracurricular activities?
No. Cal State San Bernardino does not consider it.
Does Cal State San Bernardino consider recommendation letters?
No. Cal State San Bernardino does not consider it.
Does Cal State San Bernardino consider character and personal qualities?
No. Cal State San Bernardino does not consider it.
Does Cal State San Bernardino consider a special talent or ability?
No. Cal State San Bernardino does not consider it.
Does Cal State San Bernardino consider class rank?
No. Cal State San Bernardino does not consider it. A school that does not rank its students is not a disadvantage.
Does Cal State San Bernardino consider demonstrated interest?
No. Cal State San Bernardino does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.
Does Cal State San Bernardino consider an interview?
No. Cal State San Bernardino does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.
Does Cal State San Bernardino consider legacy status?
No. Cal State San Bernardino does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.
Does Cal State San Bernardino consider being first-generation?
No. Cal State San Bernardino does not consider it.
Does Cal State San Bernardino consider where we live?
Yes. It is an important factor.
Does Cal State San Bernardino consider state residency?
No. Cal State San Bernardino does not consider it.
Does Cal State San Bernardino consider volunteer work?
No. Cal State San Bernardino does not consider it.
Does Cal State San Bernardino consider work experience?
No. Cal State San Bernardino does not consider it.
Does Cal State San Bernardino consider religious affiliation?
No. Cal State San Bernardino does not consider it.
What GPA do admitted students actually have?
59% of enrolled students had a 3.25 GPA or above. The average was 3.39 on a 4 scale, reported for 99.91% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.
| High school GPA | Share of enrolled students |
|---|---|
| 4.0 | 14.54% |
| 3.75–3.99 | 14.91% |
| 3.50–3.74 | 16.81% |
| 3.25–3.49 | 13.06% |
| 3.00–3.24 | 15.51% |
| 2.50–2.99 | 21.16% |
| 2.00–2.49 | 4.03% |
Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?
Cal State San Bernardino admitted 88.3% of 7,356 transfer applicants, against 94.3% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here. The minimum college GPA considered is 2.
When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?
Cal State San Bernardino reports its early rounds below.
| Regular application deadline | Not reported |
|---|---|
| Decisions released | Not reported |
| Reply / deposit deadline | Not reported |
| Early Decision offered | No |
| Early Action offered | Yes |
| Early Action deadline | Not reported |
| Application fee | $70 |
| Fee waiver available | Yes |
| Deferred admission offered | No |
What does my child need to take in high school?
Cal State San Bernardino requires 15 academic units. A college-preparatory program is recommended. A GED is accepted.
| Subject | Required | Recommended |
|---|---|---|
| English | 4 years | Not stated |
| Mathematics | 3 years | Not stated |
| Science | 2 years | Not stated |
| of which lab science | 2 years | Not stated |
| Foreign language | 2 years | Not stated |
| History | 1 year | Not stated |
| Visual / performing arts | 1 year | Not stated |
What will Cal State San Bernardino actually cost us?
Families pay an average of $4,564 a year at Cal State San Bernardino after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $6,450. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 58.7% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 5 merit awards averaging $11,738 to first-years with no demonstrated need.
What families at each income level actually paid:
| Family income | Average net price per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30,000 | $2,681 |
| $30,000–$48,000 | $2,680 |
| $48,000–$75,000 | $4,735 |
| $75,000–$110,000 | $7,745 |
| Over $110,000 | $14,316 |
35% of Cal State San Bernardino graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $17,857 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $156 a month in repayment. Cal State San Bernardino’s net price calculator gives your own figure.
Does a degree from Cal State San Bernardino pay off?
Graduates earn a median $59,977 ten years after entering, and $43,149 at six years. 76% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 52% are actively paying down their loans three years in.
Four-year net cost against that earnings premium:
| Family income | Four-year net cost | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|
| Under $30,000 | $10,724 | 0.7 |
| $30,000–$48,000 | $10,720 | 0.7 |
| $48,000–$75,000 | $18,940 | 1.2 |
| $75,000–$110,000 | $30,980 | 1.9 |
| Over $110,000 | $57,264 | 3.6 |
A scale, not a forecast: it assumes aid and earnings hold steady.
$109,558 to $36,910, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at Cal State San Bernardino:
| Major | Median earnings, 5 years | Graduates a year |
|---|---|---|
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | $109,558 | 117 |
| Computer Engineering | $97,972 | 33 |
| Computer Science | $94,648 | 79 |
| Computer and Information Sciences, General | $77,323 | 140 |
| Mathematics | $62,031 | 79 |
| Social Work | $61,618 | 43 |
| Biology, General | $61,301 | 106 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | $58,118 | 686 |
| Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness | $56,489 | 205 |
| Psychology, General | $46,874 | 536 |
| English Language and Literature, General | $37,159 | 149 |
| Fine and Studio Arts | $36,910 | 90 |
College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.
Will my child actually graduate?
80% of first-years return for a second year. 53% within six (Fall 2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 54.0% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 52.0% of everyone else, a gap of -2.0 points.
How big are the classes?
31% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 4% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 22:1, and 49% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Western Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission.
What is life at Cal State San Bernardino like?
15,948 undergraduates, 0% of first-years from out of state. 15% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 7% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 2% of men join a fraternity and 2% of women a sorority. 60% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $59,070.
What this means for your student
- 59% of enrolled students are at a 3.25 GPA or above, averaging 3.39. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
- Cal State San Bernardino rates test scores Very Important, so a score at or above its middle-50 range is close to expected rather than optional.
- Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
- Its highest-earning major returns $109,558 five years out against $36,910 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
- See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.
Common questions about Cal State San Bernardino
What GPA do you need for Cal State San Bernardino?
59% of enrolled students at Cal State San Bernardino had a high school GPA of 3.25 or above, and the average was 3.39, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.
What do Cal State San Bernardino graduates earn?
Cal State San Bernardino graduates earn a median $59,977 ten years after entering, and 76% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.
Other schools families compare with Cal State San Bernardino
- California State University-San MarcosAdmissions report · 95.1% admit rate
- NAUAdmissions report · 89.6% admit rate
- College of CharlestonAdmissions report · 73.0% admit rate
- Jacksonville State UniversityAdmissions report · 73.2% admit rate
- TROYAdmissions report · 95.3% admit rate
- FITAdmissions report · 67.0% admit rate
Where these numbers come from
Admissions figures: Cal State San Bernardino’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.
How to read these numbers · Back to the Cal State San Bernardino profile