Colgate University: the complete school report for parents

Colgate University puts the most weight on course rigor, GPA and class rank. The academic record does most of the work. It does not consider demonstrated interest and the interview, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. With a 17.5% admit rate and 69% of enrolled students at a 3.75 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Applying Early Decision changes the odds sharply here: 35.5% of ED applicants were admitted against 17.5% overall.

Colgate University is officially Colgate University. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
17.5%
17,310 applicants
GPA of admits
3.75+
69% at or above
Admitted off waitlist
23
of 1,281 who waited
Transfer admit rate
13.7%
423 applied
Net price (average)
$28,786
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$85,139
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
89%
83% in four
Freshmen who return
92%

What does Colgate University actually weigh in admissions?

Colgate University rates 3 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA, class rank. It does not consider 4 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is Colgate University's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

Colgate University admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow Colgate University rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresImportant
the essayImportant
extracurricular activitiesImportant
recommendationsImportant
personal qualitiesImportant
talentImportant
class rankVery Important
demonstrated interestNot Considered
the interviewNot Considered
legacyConsidered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyConsidered
state residencyNot Considered
volunteer workConsidered
work experienceConsidered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does Colgate University consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does Colgate University consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Colgate University consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Colgate University consider the application essay?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Colgate University consider extracurricular activities?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Colgate University consider recommendation letters?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Colgate University consider character and personal qualities?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Colgate University consider a special talent or ability?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Colgate University consider class rank?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Colgate University consider demonstrated interest?

No. Colgate University does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.

Does Colgate University consider an interview?

No. Colgate University does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.

Does Colgate University consider legacy status?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. It can act as a tiebreaker but will not carry a weak application.

Does Colgate University consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does Colgate University consider where we live?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Colgate University consider state residency?

No. Colgate University does not consider it.

Does Colgate University consider volunteer work?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Colgate University consider work experience?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Colgate University consider religious affiliation?

No. Colgate University does not consider it.

What GPA do admitted students actually have?

69% of enrolled students had a 3.75 GPA or above. The average was 3.85 on a 4 scale, reported for 100% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.

Colgate University high school GPA distribution of enrolled students
High school GPAShare of enrolled students
4.031%
3.75–3.9938%
3.50–3.7423%
3.25–3.497%
3.00–3.241%
2.50–2.99Not reported
2.00–2.49Not reported

What is the Colgate University waitlist really like?

Colgate University offered a place on its waiting list to 2,381 applicants and 1,281 accepted one. 23 were ultimately admitted. That is 1.8% of those who waited.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

Colgate University admitted 13.7% of 423 transfer applicants, against 17.5% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

Applying Early Decision changes the odds materially: 35.5% of ED applicants were admitted against 17.5% overall, a gap of 18 points. ED is binding, so that advantage costs the ability to compare financial-aid offers.

Colgate University application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineJanuary 15
Decisions releasedApril 1
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredYes
Early Decision deadlineNovember 1
Early Decision II offeredYes
Early Decision II deadlineJanuary 15
Early Action offeredNo
Application fee$60
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What does my child need to take in high school?

Colgate University requires 16 academic units and recommends 20. A college-preparatory program is recommended. A GED is accepted.

Colgate University high school course requirements, in years
SubjectRequiredRecommended
English4 years4 years
Mathematics3 years4 years
Science3 years4 years
of which lab science2 yearsNot stated
Foreign language3 years4 years

What will Colgate University actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $28,786 a year at Colgate University after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $73,206. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 100% of demonstrated need on average.

21% of Colgate University graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $21,643 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $159 a month in repayment. Colgate University’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from Colgate University pay off?

Graduates earn a median $85,139 ten years after entering, and $64,949 at six years. 88% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 86% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

$130,139 to $49,697, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at Colgate University:

Colgate University median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Economics$130,139143
Political Science and Government$95,70887
International Relations and National Security Studies$86,42047
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$79,58326
Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution$79,02519
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$78,91837
English Language and Literature, General$60,33436
History$56,89131
Biology, General$55,82731
Neurobiology and Neurosciences$49,69733

College Scorecard, by field of study.

Will my child actually graduate?

92% of first-years return for a second year. 83% graduate within four years and 89% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 91.0% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 88.6% of everyone else, a gap of -2.4 points.

How big are the classes?

The student-faculty ratio is 9:1, and 93% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by New England Commission on Higher Education.

What is life at Colgate University like?

3,065 undergraduates, 75% of first-years from out of state. 100% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 91% across all undergraduates. 18% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $81,701.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten. Colgate University recommends 20 academic units.
  • 69% of enrolled students are at a 3.75 GPA or above, averaging 3.85. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
  • Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
  • Early Decision is worth 18 points of admit rate, but it is binding and removes any ability to compare aid offers.
  • The waitlist is live but thin: 23 of 1,281 who waited were admitted, about 2%.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $130,139 five years out against $49,697 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about Colgate University

What GPA do you need for Colgate University?

69% of enrolled students at Colgate University had a high school GPA of 3.75 or above, and the average was 3.85, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.

Does the Colgate University waitlist move?

1,281 students accepted a place on the Colgate University waiting list and 23 were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.

What do Colgate University graduates earn?

Colgate University graduates earn a median $85,139 ten years after entering, and 88% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with Colgate University

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: Colgate University’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the Colgate University profile