Loyola Marymount University: the complete school report for parents

Loyola Marymount University puts the most weight on course rigor, GPA and the essay. A second tier of recommendations, personal qualities and talent carries real weight too. It does not consider legacy, demonstrated interest and the interview, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. With a 48.2% admit rate and 50% of enrolled students at a 4.0 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Major matters more than the name on the diploma here: five years out, Finance and Financial Management Services graduates earn a median $116,165 against $35,852 for Dance.

Loyola Marymount University is officially Loyola Marymount University. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
48.2%
22,798 applicants
GPA of admits
4.0+
50% at or above
Admitted off waitlist
208
Transfer admit rate
56.2%
3,036 applied
Net price (average)
$48,381
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$78,349
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
79%
66% in four
Freshmen who return
89%

What does Loyola Marymount University actually weigh in admissions?

Loyola Marymount University rates 3 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA, the essay. It does not consider 6 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is Loyola Marymount University's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

Loyola Marymount University admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow Loyola Marymount University rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresConsidered
the essayVery Important
extracurricular activitiesConsidered
recommendationsImportant
personal qualitiesImportant
talentImportant
class rankConsidered
demonstrated interestNot Considered
the interviewNot Considered
legacyNot Considered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyNot Considered
state residencyNot Considered
volunteer workConsidered
work experienceConsidered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does Loyola Marymount University consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does Loyola Marymount University consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Loyola Marymount University consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Loyola Marymount University consider the application essay?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The essay is doing as much work as the transcript.

Does Loyola Marymount University consider extracurricular activities?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Loyola Marymount University consider recommendation letters?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Loyola Marymount University consider character and personal qualities?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Loyola Marymount University consider a special talent or ability?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Loyola Marymount University consider class rank?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Loyola Marymount University consider demonstrated interest?

No. Loyola Marymount University does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.

Does Loyola Marymount University consider an interview?

No. Loyola Marymount University does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.

Does Loyola Marymount University consider legacy status?

No. Loyola Marymount University does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.

Does Loyola Marymount University consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does Loyola Marymount University consider where we live?

No. Loyola Marymount University does not consider it.

Does Loyola Marymount University consider state residency?

No. Loyola Marymount University does not consider it.

Does Loyola Marymount University consider volunteer work?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Loyola Marymount University consider work experience?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Loyola Marymount University consider religious affiliation?

No. Loyola Marymount University does not consider it.

What GPA do admitted students actually have?

50% of enrolled students had a 4.0 GPA or above. The average was 3.98 on a 4 scale, reported for 100% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.

Loyola Marymount University high school GPA distribution of enrolled students
High school GPAShare of enrolled students
4.050.46%
3.75–3.9928.52%
3.50–3.7415.63%
3.25–3.494.1%
3.00–3.241.17%
2.50–2.990.07%
2.00–2.490.07%

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

Loyola Marymount University admitted 56.2% of 3,036 transfer applicants, against 48.2% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here. The minimum college GPA considered is 3.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

Loyola Marymount University reports its early rounds below.

Loyola Marymount University application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineJanuary 15
Decisions releasedPlan dependent
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredYes
Early Decision deadlineNovember 1
Early Decision II offeredYes
Early Decision II deadlineJanuary 8
Early Action offeredYes
Early Action deadlineNovember 1
Application fee$75
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What does my child need to take in high school?

Loyola Marymount University sets no fixed course requirements, but recommends 16 academic units. A college-preparatory program is required.

Loyola Marymount University high school course requirements, in years
SubjectRequiredRecommended
EnglishNot stated4 years
MathematicsNot stated3 years
ScienceNot stated2 years
Foreign languageNot stated3 years

What will Loyola Marymount University actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $48,381 a year at Loyola Marymount University after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $68,042. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 71.4% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 845 merit awards averaging $12,155 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

39% of Loyola Marymount University graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $33,482 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $207 a month in repayment. Loyola Marymount University’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from Loyola Marymount University pay off?

Graduates earn a median $78,349 ten years after entering, and $62,763 at six years. 82% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 78% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

$116,165 to $35,852, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at Loyola Marymount University:

Loyola Marymount University median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Finance and Financial Management Services$116,165115
Accounting and Related Services$112,52335
Natural Sciences$89,10144
Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations$86,05752
Economics$83,84979
Marketing$82,022154
Biology, General$81,54757
Political Science and Government$73,76591
Communication and Media Studies$70,036125
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$46,410134
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$45,03571
Dance$35,85212

College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.

Will my child actually graduate?

89% of first-years return for a second year. 66% graduate within four years and 79% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 78.1% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 78.0% of everyone else, a gap of -0.1 points.

How big are the classes?

54% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 0% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 10:1, and 58% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Western Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission.

What is life at Loyola Marymount University like?

7,187 undergraduates, 35% of first-years from out of state. 91% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 48% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 14% of men join a fraternity and 26% of women a sorority. 22% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $78,631.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten. Loyola Marymount University recommends 16 academic units.
  • 50% of enrolled students are at a 4.0 GPA or above, averaging 3.98. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
  • Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $116,165 five years out against $35,852 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about Loyola Marymount University

What GPA do you need for Loyola Marymount University?

50% of enrolled students at Loyola Marymount University had a high school GPA of 4.0 or above, and the average was 3.98, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.

What do Loyola Marymount University graduates earn?

Loyola Marymount University graduates earn a median $78,349 ten years after entering, and 82% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with Loyola Marymount University

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: Loyola Marymount University’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the Loyola Marymount University profile