Santa Clara: the complete school report for parents

Santa Clara rates 8 of the 18 admission factors Very Important, among them course rigor, GPA and the essay. This is a genuinely holistic review. It does not consider the interview, so there is no interview to prepare for. With a 47.9% admit rate and 54% of enrolled students at a 3.75 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Applying Early Decision changes the odds sharply here: 76.4% of ED applicants were admitted against 47.9% overall.

Santa Clara is officially Santa Clara University, also known as SCU. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
47.9%
20,032 applicants
GPA of admits
3.75+
54% at or above
Admitted off waitlist
263
of 268 who waited
Transfer admit rate
64.7%
1,206 applied
Net price (average)
$50,062
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$109,183
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
87%
Freshmen who return
93%

What does Santa Clara actually weigh in admissions?

Santa Clara rates 8 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA, the essay, extracurricular activities, personal qualities, talent, volunteer work, work experience. It does not consider 1 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is Santa Clara's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

Santa Clara admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow Santa Clara rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresConsidered
the essayVery Important
extracurricular activitiesVery Important
recommendationsImportant
personal qualitiesVery Important
talentVery Important
class rankImportant
demonstrated interestImportant
the interviewNot Considered
legacyConsidered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyConsidered
state residencyConsidered
volunteer workVery Important
work experienceVery Important
religious affiliationConsidered

Does Santa Clara consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does Santa Clara consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Santa Clara consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Santa Clara consider the application essay?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The essay is doing as much work as the transcript.

Does Santa Clara consider extracurricular activities?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Santa Clara consider recommendation letters?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Santa Clara consider character and personal qualities?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Santa Clara consider a special talent or ability?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Santa Clara consider class rank?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Santa Clara consider demonstrated interest?

Yes. It is an important factor. Visits, emails and opened mail are tracked and counted, so engage early.

Does Santa Clara consider an interview?

No. Santa Clara does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.

Does Santa Clara consider legacy status?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. It can act as a tiebreaker but will not carry a weak application.

Does Santa Clara consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does Santa Clara consider where we live?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Santa Clara consider state residency?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Santa Clara consider volunteer work?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Santa Clara consider work experience?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Santa Clara consider religious affiliation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

What GPA do admitted students actually have?

54% of enrolled students had a 3.75 GPA or above. The average was 3.72 on a 4 scale, reported for 100% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.

Santa Clara high school GPA distribution of enrolled students
High school GPAShare of enrolled students
4.010.43%
3.75–3.9943.42%
3.50–3.7428.6%
3.25–3.4913.41%
3.00–3.243.41%
2.50–2.990.73%
2.00–2.490%

What is the Santa Clara waitlist really like?

Santa Clara offered a place on its waiting list to 405 applicants and 268 accepted one. 263 were ultimately admitted. That is 98.1% of those who waited.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

Santa Clara admitted 64.7% of 1,206 transfer applicants, against 47.9% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here. The minimum college GPA considered is 3.3.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

Applying Early Decision changes the odds materially: 76.4% of ED applicants were admitted against 47.9% overall, a gap of 29 points. ED is binding, so that advantage costs the ability to compare financial-aid offers.

Santa Clara application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineJanuary 7
Decisions releasedMarch 25
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredYes
Early Decision deadlineNovember 1
Early Decision II offeredYes
Early Decision II deadlineJanuary 7
Early Action offeredYes
Early Action deadlineNovember 1
Application fee$75
Fee waiver availableNot reported
Deferred admission offeredYes

What does my child need to take in high school?

Santa Clara requires 14 academic units and recommends 18. A GED is accepted.

Santa Clara high school course requirements, in years
SubjectRequiredRecommended
English4 years4 years
Mathematics3 years4 years
Science2 years3 years
of which lab science2 yearsNot stated
Foreign language2 years3 years

What will Santa Clara actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $50,062 a year at Santa Clara after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $64,956. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 87.1% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 243 merit awards averaging $15,939 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

33% of Santa Clara graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $28,838 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $203 a month in repayment. Santa Clara’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from Santa Clara pay off?

Graduates earn a median $109,183 ten years after entering, and $91,198 at six years. 91% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 88% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

$191,635 to $43,499, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at Santa Clara:

Santa Clara median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Computer Engineering$191,63583
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$139,61612
Economics$128,642108
Finance and Financial Management Services$127,056160
Accounting and Related Services$123,06567
Mechanical Engineering$118,35052
Marketing$100,12379
Mathematics$91,34228
Psychology, General$77,958122
Biology, General$70,33181
Public Health$65,01540
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$43,4998

College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.

Will my child actually graduate?

93% of first-years return for a second year. 87% within six (Fall 2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 89.6% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 86.9% of everyone else, a gap of -2.7 points.

How big are the classes?

42% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 0% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 11:1, and 72% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Western Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission.

What is life at Santa Clara like?

6,695 undergraduates, 38% of first-years from out of state. 94% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 51% across all undergraduates. 17% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $93,581.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten. Santa Clara recommends 18 academic units.
  • 54% of enrolled students are at a 3.75 GPA or above, averaging 3.72. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
  • Early Decision is worth 29 points of admit rate, but it is binding and removes any ability to compare aid offers.
  • The waitlist is live but thin: 263 of 268 who waited were admitted, about 98%.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $191,635 five years out against $43,499 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about Santa Clara

What GPA do you need for Santa Clara?

54% of enrolled students at Santa Clara had a high school GPA of 3.75 or above, and the average was 3.72, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.

Does the Santa Clara waitlist move?

268 students accepted a place on the Santa Clara waiting list and 263 were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.

What do Santa Clara graduates earn?

Santa Clara graduates earn a median $109,183 ten years after entering, and 91% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with Santa Clara

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: Santa Clara’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the Santa Clara profile